Before having children the husband and I used to love dining
out. We did it probably too much. There
is nothing better in my world than going to a great little tapas place and
gorging yourself on warm olives and focaccia with roasted garlic and flights of
Spanish wine. Or brunch! Remember
brunch?! Leisurely strolling into a place around 11 and eating omelets and
having a spicy bloody Mary? This has been one of the hardest things for me to
give-up since becoming a parent. My kids can be pretty good in public, but they
are 22 months and 3 years old, they don’t do “waiting” well. So we are mostly
stuck at home, ordering in, or at best hitting a chain.
I recently read lifestyle piece in the Washington Post where the author
described going out to restaurant with her kids, and an old bitty came up and
told her “You’re children are charming only to you”. I couldn’t believe anyone
in their right mind would ever have the gall to say that to a mother with 2
kids under 4. I took to the comments section expecting to read similar rants to
the one I am about to give you. But I was shocked to find comment after comment
about how her kids are coddled too much if they need entertainment to sit
through a whole meal (I reiterate, they are under 4!), and how if your children
can’t be quiet through a meal don’t bring them to a restaurant.
Now, gone are the days of dining anywhere
with flights of wine on the menu. The best we can hope for is a place with a
plane on the menu. Let’s get one thing straight: I have no interest in family
restaurants. They are bad, especially as a vegetarian. You are either ordering
a shitty southwestern chicken salad without the chicken, or they are
defrosting a veggie burger from the deep freeze for you. But the one thing I do
like about these places is that I can bring my kids there. They move fast, the waitresses
know to bring the side of fruit out right away, and they have the plastic cups
with the bendy straws. Do my kids make noise? Yes. But fuck you; I’m eating at
Bob Evans. I don’t want to be here, I have to be here. And guess what,
if you don’t have kids, you don’t have to be here. Go to the place with the tapenade
if the sound of children makes you want to hurl. You elected to go to a place
that advertises that kids eat free on Tuesday. This is what you get. Do see
me? The mother who hasn’t slept, ketchup
stain on my sleeve, trying to show my kid how a connect-the-dot picture on the
menu works? The fact I do not have to cook, or do the dishes from this meal is the
one grace I get this week from an otherwise never ending list of chores. So I dare you to tell me my kids are too loud.
I would suggest you duck after doing so though.
No comments:
Post a Comment